Heads up: buy through a link here and we earn a commission from Amazon, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — how that works.
The short answer
Gladiator's Large Gearbox is the cabinet to buy if you want documentation: 450 lb per cabinet and 75 lb per shelf published, leveler legs, and a 10-year limited warranty that nothing else here offers. If capacity per dollar is the priority, SISESOL's 72 x 36 x 18 publishes 900 lb across five shelves with a three-point lock for a fraction of the price — and publishes no warranty at all.
The cabinet with real documentation behind it: per-shelf and per-cabinet ratings, leveler legs and a 10-year warranty. You pay for the paperwork, and it is worth paying for.
The clearest spec sheet among the budget cabinets: steel thickness and per-shelf rating both stated. That is worth more than another big total-capacity number.
The budget pick, and an honest one: it publishes thickness, per-shelf load and an anti-tip fixing, then charges less than anything comparable. It is just smaller than it looks in the photos.
#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked October 5, 2026, and vanish from this page rather than go stale. Scores are ours, compiled from published specs and warranty terms — not from testing we did not do. Tap a row for the full write-up.
Buy fewer cabinets than you think you need
Cabinets are the most expensive storage per cubic foot in a garage, and they solve exactly two problems: things that must be locked away, and things that must be kept clean. For everything else, open shelving holds more, costs less, and lets you see what you own — which is the actual point of organizing a garage.
So the honest advice is: buy one good cabinet for the chemicals, the power tools and anything a child should not reach, and put the money you saved into wall shelving and an overhead rack. Most garages are over-cabineted because cabinets photograph well.
The published numbers, side by side
Every figure is the manufacturer's own published number. 'Not stated' means the listing gives none.
Cabinet
Size
Per shelf
Steel
Lock
Warranty
Gladiator Large Gearbox
72 x 36 x 18 in.
75 lb (450 lb per cabinet)
Not stated
Keyed
10 years
SISESOL
72 x 36 x 18 in.
900 lb total, no per-shelf
Cold-rolled, no gauge
3-point
None
Letaya
72 x 36 x 18 in.
120 lb
0.8 mm
3-point
None
Yizosh
71.8 x 35.4 x 17.7 in.
180 lb
Not stated
Keyed, 2 keys
None
Greenvelly
72 x 32 x 16 in.
150 lb
0.8 mm
3-point + anti-tip
None
Gladiator Wall Gearbox
28 x 28 x 12 in.
40 lb (150 lb per cabinet)
Not stated
Keyed
10 years
Sterilite resin
69.4 x 25.6 x 18.9 in.
40 lb recommended
Resin
Takes a padlock
None
Scroll the table sideways on a narrow screen.
The table makes the central tension obvious. Gladiator publishes the LOWEST per-shelf figure of any steel cabinet here — 75 lb — and is the only one with a warranty. Yizosh publishes 180 lb per shelf, 2.4 times as much, and no warranty, no steel thickness and no assembled weight.
Which of those two numbers do you trust? That is the actual decision in this category, and it is not obvious. A conservative published figure with a 10-year warranty behind it is a different kind of claim from an optimistic one with nothing behind it.
Use assembled weight as a cross-check
When steel gauge is unpublished, weight is the best proxy you have. Gladiator's Large Gearbox is 115 lb at 72 x 36 x 18 in. SISESOL's is 91 lb at exactly the same dimensions. Greenvelly's is 84 lb at a smaller 72 x 32 x 16 in.
That 24 lb difference between the Gladiator and the SISESOL, at identical dimensions, is steel. It does not prove the Gladiator is better — but it is consistent with Gladiator's lower, more conservative per-shelf claim being the better-founded one.
Where a cabinet publishes neither a gauge nor an assembled weight — Yizosh and SISESOL both omit one or the other — you are buying on photographs. That is a legitimate choice at these prices; just know that you are making it.
Locks: three-point beats keyed
A single cam lock holds the door closed. A three-point lock engages the frame at top, middle and bottom, which makes prying a door open considerably harder. Five of the cabinets here publish three-point locking; Gladiator, oddly, does not mention its lock mechanism at all.
If what you are securing is chemicals away from children, any lock is sufficient. If it is tools in a shared or rented garage, the three-point mechanism is worth seeking out — and so is a rolling cabinet with separately locked compartments, covered on the best rolling garage cabinets.
Anchor it, whatever you buy
The way a garage cabinet hurts somebody is by tipping, not by collapsing. A 72-inch cabinet with the heavy things on the top two shelves goes over when a child climbs the shelves or an adult pulls hard on the top edge.
Greenvelly publishes an explicit anti-tip fixing and deserves credit for it. Gladiator has leveler legs, which matters because garage slabs slope toward the door by design and a cabinet leaning forward one degree is a cabinet closer to going over.
Whatever you buy: two angle brackets into studs, twenty minutes, done. Load the bottom shelves heavy and the top shelves light while you are at it.
The wall-hung option
Gladiator's Wall Gearboxes — 28 x 28 x 12 in., 150 lb per cabinet, 40 lb per shelf — are the only wall-hung cabinets here, and they cost more per cubic foot than anything else on the page. What they buy is floor space, which in a tight garage is the scarce resource.
The two versions are the same cabinet with a layout difference: the full-door hides everything, the 3/4-door has an open bottom shelf for the things you use weekly. Both include hanger brackets that reposition on Gladiator's wall system, so they move later without new holes.
A cheaper way to achieve the same thing: hang a cabinet you already own on a French cleat, which publishes 500 lb for the pair and lifts off in seconds.
#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Large Gearbox, 36 in. (GALG36KD)
#1Best for the best-documented cabinet
Gladiator Large Gearbox, 36 in. (GALG36KD)
8.8/10our score, from published specs
The cabinet with real documentation behind it: per-shelf and per-cabinet ratings, leveler legs and a 10-year warranty. You pay for the paperwork, and it is worth paying for.
What the maker publishes
72 in. H x 36 in. W x 18 in. D
Published: 450 lb per cabinet, 75 lb per shelf
2 adjustable shelves plus 1 fixed shelf
Leveler legs for uneven floors; hammered granite finish
10-year limited warranty; 115 lb
How it scores
Capacity
7.5
Build
9.0
Spec transparency
10.0
Warranty
10.0
Value
6.5
Where it wins
+A published 10-year limited warranty — the only cabinet here that puts a number on how long it should last
+Per-shelf (75 lb) AND per-cabinet (450 lb) ratings, so you can load it deliberately
+Leveler legs, because garage slabs slope toward the door by design
+Part of the Gladiator wall system, so it integrates rather than just standing there
Where it doesn’t
−Twice the price of a 72 in. import cabinet with a bigger claimed number
−75 lb per shelf is modest; three shelves of paint cans will exceed it
−Ready-to-assemble, so the rigidity is down to your build quality
#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 72 in. Steel Cabinet, 5 Shelves
#3Best for published steel thickness
Letaya 72 in. Steel Cabinet, 5 Shelves
7.6/10our score, from published specs
The clearest spec sheet among the budget cabinets: steel thickness and per-shelf rating both stated. That is worth more than another big total-capacity number.
What the maker publishes
72 in. H x 36 in. W x 18 in. D
0.8 mm steel frame thickness, published
5 adjustable shelves, 120 lb per shelf (600 lb across the shelves)
Upgraded 3-point lock with thickened steel rods
Reinforced metal corners in the packaging
How it scores
Capacity
7.5
Build
7.0
Spec transparency
8.5
Warranty
2.0
Value
9.0
Where it wins
+Publishes both the steel thickness (0.8 mm) AND a per-shelf rating (120 lb) — the pair you actually need
+Anti-collision reinforcements on the doors, so they close quietly instead of banging
+Packaging is explicitly built against shipping dents, which is the usual failure mode for flat steel
+Both paper and video assembly instructions
Where it doesn’t
−0.8 mm is thinner than NewAge's 24-gauge (roughly 0.6 mm) — different measurement, and the listing does not help you compare
−120 lb per shelf is middling: fine for bins, not for cast iron
#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 72 x 32 x 16 in. Locking Cabinet
#5Best for the cheapest tall cabinet
Greenvelly 72 x 32 x 16 in. Locking Cabinet
7.4/10our score, from published specs
The budget pick, and an honest one: it publishes thickness, per-shelf load and an anti-tip fixing, then charges less than anything comparable. It is just smaller than it looks in the photos.
Yizosh publishes the highest per-shelf figure at 180 lb across five shelves; SISESOL publishes the highest total at 900 lb. Gladiator publishes the lowest of the steel cabinets at 75 lb per shelf — and is the only one with a 10-year warranty behind its number. Higher claims and more confidence are not the same thing.
How thick should garage cabinet steel be?+
The published figures here are 0.8 mm (Letaya, Greenvelly) and 24-gauge (NewAge, roughly 0.6 mm). Thicker is better but the measurement systems differ and no listing helps you convert, which is a real comparison problem. A more useful cross-check is assembled weight: 91 lb for a 72-inch cabinet versus 115 lb for a smaller Gladiator tells you something.
What is a three-point lock and does it matter?+
A lock that engages the door frame at three points — top, middle and bottom — instead of one. It genuinely resists prying far better than a single cam lock. SISESOL, Letaya, Yizosh, Greenvelly and Kelueo all publish three-point locking, and Gladiator does not mention it at all.
Should garage cabinets be anchored to the wall?+
Yes. A 72-inch cabinet loaded top-heavy goes over when somebody pulls on a top shelf, and that is the failure mode — not collapse. Greenvelly publishes an explicit anti-tip fixing and Gladiator has leveler legs for uneven slabs. Anchor anything over about 60 inches tall into studs regardless.
Are resin cabinets any good in a garage?+
For light storage in a damp garage, genuinely yes. Sterilite's resin cabinet will not rust, chip or peel, and it publishes a conservative 40 lb per shelf. That is cleaning supplies and light bins, not paint cans and batteries — but an unheated garage that sweats every spring is harder on steel than most people expect.
Wall cabinet or floor cabinet?+
Floor cabinets hold five to six times more: Gladiator publishes 450 lb for its floor cabinet against 150 lb for its wall-hung Gearbox. Wall cabinets cost you no floor space, which in a tight garage can be worth the capacity. Buy floor cabinets for weight and wall cabinets for the light clutter at eye level.
Sources
Gladiator GALG36KD listing — Published 450 lb per cabinet, 75 lb per shelf, leveler legs and a 10-year limited warranty.
SISESOL 72x36x18 listing — Published 900 lb total capacity across 5 adjustable shelves, 3-point locking system, 91 lb assembled weight.
Sterilite 4-shelf cabinet listing — Published 40 lb per shelf recommendation and exterior dimensions; resin construction, made in the USA.