The two brands that publish real numbers and sell matching components. They are not competing on the same axis — one sells pieces, the other sells systems.
Heads up: buy through a link here and we earn a commission from Amazon, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — how that works.
The short answer
Gladiator
NewAge Bold
Sold as
Individual pieces
Complete 7/9/12-piece sets
Construction
Ready-to-assemble
Fully welded, 24-gauge
Per-cabinet rating
450 lb (floor), 150 lb (wall)
800 lb locker, 600 lb base, 100 lb wall
Per-SHELF rating
75 lb floor, 40 lb wall
Not published separately
Warranty
10-year limited
Not stated in listing
Worktop
Not included
48 in. or 72 in. bamboo included
Buy in stages
Yes
No — sets only
Scroll the table sideways on a narrow screen.
They are not actually competitors
The framing of this comparison is slightly wrong, and worth correcting before the detail. Gladiator and NewAge are not two versions of the same product at different prices. They are two different purchase models.
Gladiator sells you a cabinet. Then another cabinet. Then a wall cabinet that hangs on brackets that reposition. You can start with one Gearbox for the chemicals and build a wall over three years, and everything matches because it is all the same catalog.
NewAge sells you a wall. Nine feet, eleven feet or thirteen feet of coordinated welded cabinetry with a bamboo worktop, arriving on a pallet in one delivery. You cannot buy a third of it and add the rest later.
If you know what your whole garage wall should look like and have the budget now, that is a NewAge question. If you are solving one problem at a time, it is a Gladiator question. The specs below only matter after you have answered that.
Where NewAge genuinely wins
Capacity
Not close. NewAge publishes 800 lb per multi-use locker and 600 lb per base cabinet; Gladiator publishes 450 lb per Large Gearbox. On wall cabinets it is 100 lb (NewAge) against 150 lb (Gladiator), so Gladiator takes that one — but on the floor units NewAge is carrying a third more.
Construction
NewAge is fully welded, 24-gauge, ships ready to install. Gladiator's Gearboxes are ready-to-assemble. A welded box is rigid out of the crate and stays square; an assembled one depends on your care with every bolt. This is the clearest construction advantage either brand has.
What is in the box
NewAge includes a bamboo worktop — 48 in. on the 7-piece, 72 in. on the 9-piece, two 48 in. tops on the 12-piece. Gladiator includes no work surface at all, so a bench is a separate purchase. If you were buying a workbench anyway, that changes the total-cost arithmetic considerably.
Where Gladiator genuinely wins
The warranty
Gladiator publishes a 10-year limited warranty on the Large Gearbox and both Wall Gearboxes. NewAge's warranty terms do not appear in these listings. On a purchase measured in hundreds or thousands of dollars, a manufacturer stating how long it expects the product to last is meaningful information — and it is the only warranty published by any cabinet on this site.
The per-shelf figure
This is subtler and arguably more useful. NewAge tells you a base cabinet holds 600 lb. Gladiator tells you the cabinet holds 450 lb and that each shelf holds 75 lb.
The second number is the one you use. When you are deciding whether a shelf of paint cans is fine, 'the cabinet holds 600 lb' does not help; '75 lb per shelf' does. Gladiator publishing the lower, more conservative, more specific figure is the behavior of a company that measured a shelf.
Buying in stages
Gladiator's hanger-bracket wall cabinets reposition on its wall system, which means the layout is not a one-time decision. Add a cabinet, move one along the wall, change your mind — none of it requires new holes. For a garage you will reorganize at least once, that flexibility is worth real money.
Leveler legs
A small thing that matters: garage slabs slope toward the door by design, so a cabinet standing on an unmodified base leans forward. Gladiator publishes leveler legs on the Large Gearbox. A cabinet leaning one degree forward is a cabinet measurably closer to tipping.
The price question, honestly
Gladiator costs roughly twice an equivalent-size import cabinet, and NewAge's sets run into four figures. Neither is competing on price, and both lose that competition decisively to the import cabinets in the best garage storage cabinets — SISESOL publishes 900 lb total for a fraction of Gladiator's price.
What you are buying from these two brands is documentation and matching. SISESOL publishes 900 lb and no warranty, no steel gauge, no per-shelf figure. Gladiator publishes 75 lb per shelf and ten years. Which of those is worth more depends entirely on whether you want to be able to reason about the product or just to have a cabinet.
The recommendation
Buying one thing now — Gladiator Large Gearbox. Published per-shelf rating, leveler legs, 10-year warranty, and it integrates with whatever you add later.
Doing a whole wall at once, with a bench included — NewAge Bold 9-piece. Eleven feet, fully welded, 72-inch worktop, highest published capacities.
Wall-hung storage you might move — Gladiator Wall Gearbox. The hanger brackets and the 10-year warranty are the reason, not the 150 lb.
#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Large Gearbox, 36 in. (GALG36KD)
#1Best for the best-documented cabinet
Gladiator Large Gearbox, 36 in. (GALG36KD)
8.8/10our score, from published specs
The cabinet with real documentation behind it: per-shelf and per-cabinet ratings, leveler legs and a 10-year warranty. You pay for the paperwork, and it is worth paying for.
What the maker publishes
72 in. H x 36 in. W x 18 in. D
Published: 450 lb per cabinet, 75 lb per shelf
2 adjustable shelves plus 1 fixed shelf
Leveler legs for uneven floors; hammered granite finish
10-year limited warranty; 115 lb
How it scores
Capacity
7.5
Build
9.0
Spec transparency
10.0
Warranty
10.0
Value
6.5
Where it wins
+A published 10-year limited warranty — the only cabinet here that puts a number on how long it should last
+Per-shelf (75 lb) AND per-cabinet (450 lb) ratings, so you can load it deliberately
+Leveler legs, because garage slabs slope toward the door by design
+Part of the Gladiator wall system, so it integrates rather than just standing there
Where it doesn’t
−Twice the price of a 72 in. import cabinet with a bigger claimed number
−75 lb per shelf is modest; three shelves of paint cans will exceed it
−Ready-to-assemble, so the rigidity is down to your build quality
+The open bottom shelf is where the things you use weekly live, without opening a door
+Same 10-year warranty and published ratings as the full-door version
+Repositions on the wall system as your layout changes
+Identically priced to the full-door, so it is a layout choice not a budget one
Where it doesn’t
−The open shelf collects dust and sawdust, which is exactly what a door prevents
−Same 150 lb ceiling
−One adjustable shelf instead of two
Next
If you are leaning NewAge, the best garage storage systems compares its three set sizes against the import alternatives. If you are leaning Gladiator, the best garage storage cabinets puts it against the cabinets that publish bigger numbers and less paperwork.
Either way, garage setup under $2,500 is where a cabinet system actually fits in a whole-garage budget — and it is sobering about how much of the budget it takes.
Questions people actually ask
Which is better, Gladiator or NewAge?+
They answer different questions. Gladiator sells individual pieces with a 10-year warranty and publishes per-shelf as well as per-cabinet ratings, so you can build up over time. NewAge sells complete welded systems with higher published capacities and a worktop included. Buy Gladiator to start small; buy NewAge to do a whole wall at once.
Which has the higher capacity?+
NewAge, substantially. Its lockers publish 800 lb and its base cabinets 600 lb, against Gladiator's 450 lb per cabinet. But Gladiator is the only one of the two that publishes a PER-SHELF figure (75 lb), which is the number you use when deciding what goes where.
Does either have a warranty?+
Gladiator publishes a 10-year limited warranty on the pieces here. NewAge's warranty terms are not stated in these listings. On a purchase this size that difference is worth weighing — a published warranty is a manufacturer putting a number on how long it expects the product to last.
Can I buy one Gladiator cabinet and add more later?+
Yes, and that is the brand's real advantage. Gladiator sells individual Gearboxes and wall cabinets with hanger brackets that reposition on its wall system, so a cabinet bought this year still integrates with one bought in three years. NewAge's sets are sold as sets.
Is fully welded worth it?+
Yes. A welded box arrives rigid and stays square under load; a ready-to-assemble one is as square as your build. NewAge is fully welded; Gladiator's Gearboxes are explicitly ready-to-assemble. That is a genuine construction difference and it goes NewAge's way.
Sources
Gladiator GALG36KD listing — 450 lb per cabinet, 75 lb per shelf, leveler legs, 10-year limited warranty.