Skip to content
GARAGE & WORKBENCH
ELEKICO 4 ft V-Shape Shop Light, 7,500 lm, 6-Pack

Garage Lighting

The Best LED Shop Lights

Linkable, plug-in, no electrician. Ranked on efficacy calculated from the makers' own figures, because the spread across identical-looking fixtures is 60%.

By Mike M. · Published October 5, 2026

Heads up: buy through a link here and we earn a commission from Amazon, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — how that works.

The short answer

ELEKICO's 4 ft V-shape is the best-performing shop light here: 7,500 lumens at 50W — 150 lumens per watt — and a 270-degree spread that throws light at the walls rather than straight down, so fewer fixtures cover the same bay. The constraint is a 3-fixture link limit, so a long garage needs more than one circuit.

The short answer

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
ELEKICO 4 ft V-Shape Shop Light, 7,500 lm, 6-Pack
ELEKICO 4 ft V-Shape Shop Light, 7,500 lm, 6-Pack

The most efficient and widest-spreading 4 ft light here, in a six-pack. The 3-unit link limit is the only real constraint on a long run.

Spreading light sideways8.9/10$69.99Amazon
2
hykolity 4 ft Shop Light, 5,500 lm, 3-CCT / 3-Level
hykolity 4 ft Shop Light, 5,500 lm, 3-CCT / 3-Level

The best-specified 4 ft shop light here: 130 lm/W, three color temperatures and three output levels from one fixture. No published CRI, like everything else in the category.

Choosing your light color8.9/10$47.49Amazon
3
Barrina T8 8 ft Shop Light, 10,000 lm, 72W, 10-Pack
Barrina T8 8 ft Shop Light, 10,000 lm, 72W, 10-Pack

The 8 ft pick: a published minimum efficacy of 138 lm/W and half the mounting points of a 4 ft install. Get a second person for the ceiling work.

Big garages, fewest fixtures8.7/10$189.99Amazon
4
Skymoatled 8 ft Shop Light, 15,500 lm, 100W, 8-Pack
Skymoatled 8 ft Shop Light, 15,500 lm, 100W, 8-Pack

An eight-pack of 15,500 lm fixtures at a usable 5000K, with the actual safety standard named. The missing link limit is the gap.

A UL-tested 8-pack8.7/10$159.98Amazon
5
ONLYLUX 4 ft Shop Light, 10,000 lm, 60W, 6-Pack
ONLYLUX 4 ft Shop Light, 10,000 lm, 60W, 6-Pack

The brightest 4 ft fixture in the group with a proper aluminum housing. The implied efficacy is high enough that it is worth treating as a claim rather than a measurement.

The brightest 4-footer8.6/10$139.59Amazon
6
SHOPLED 8 ft Shop Light, 15,000 lm, 100W, 4-Pack
SHOPLED 8 ft Shop Light, 15,000 lm, 100W, 4-Pack

The most light per fixture available, with a published 50,000-hour life. Note the maker's own 3-fixture chain limit on a 4-pack.

Maximum light per fixture8.6/10$109.99Amazon
7
BBOUNDER 4 ft Shop Light, 4,400 lm, 6500K, 10-Pack
BBOUNDER 4 ft Shop Light, 4,400 lm, 6500K, 10-Pack

Ten fixtures, one box, whole garage done. The 6500K color is the thing to decide on before you buy — it is cooler than most people expect.

Lighting a whole garage at once8.3/10$79.99Amazon
8
Sunco Lighting 4 ft Shop Light, 4,500 lm, 5000K, 6-Pack
Sunco Lighting 4 ft Shop Light, 4,500 lm, 5000K, 6-Pack

The fixture to buy when there is no light switch: a pull chain on each unit and a sensible 5000K color.

No wall switch needed8.2/10$59.99Amazon
9
hykolity 4 ft Linkable Shop Light, 4,400 lm, 5000K
hykolity 4 ft Linkable Shop Light, 4,400 lm, 5000K

Buy it to add one more light over the bench. The 3-CCT version is only slightly dearer and 25% more efficient, so for a full install start there.

Cheapest per fixture8.0/10$26.59Amazon

#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked October 5, 2026, and vanish from this page rather than go stale. Scores are ours, compiled from published specs and warranty terms — not from testing we did not do. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Why these beat anything hardwired

Every fixture on this page plugs in, has a switch on the cord, hangs on chains or mounts flush, and links to its neighbors with a jumper. The entire install for a two-car garage is an afternoon with a drill and no electrician.

That is the practical case for shop lights over any hardwired fixture, and it is a strong one. It also means you can light the garage in stages — one fixture now, three more when you know where the bench is going.

Efficacy: the number to shop on

These fixtures look identical on a shelf and vary by 60% in efficiency. Lumens per watt is what you pay for over the fixture's life, and it falls straight out of the published lumens and wattage.

FixtureLengthOutputEfficacyLink limit
ONLYLUX4 ft10,000 lm / 60W167 lm/WNot stated
ELEKICO V-shape4 ft7,500 lm / 50W150 lm/W3
SHOPLED8 ft15,000 lm / 100W150 lm/W3
Skymoatled8 ft15,500 lm / 100W155 lm/WNot stated
Barrina T88 ft10,000 lm / 72W138 lm/W min, published4
hykolity 3-CCT4 ft5,500 lm / 42W130 lm/W6
Sunco4 ft4,500 lm / 40W112 lm/W4
BBOUNDER4 ft4,400 lm / 40W110 lm/W4
hykolity 4,4004 ft4,400 lm / 42W105 lm/W6
Scroll the table sideways on a narrow screen.

Two things to take from that. First, within hykolity's own range, the 3-CCT model is 130 lm/W and the older 4,400 lm model is 105 lm/W for a few dollars less — the newer one is 25% more efficient and the obvious buy. Second, Barrina publishes a MINIMUM efficacy where everyone else publishes a maximum, which is a materially more conservative claim.

The build details that predict lifespan

LED fixtures do not usually fail; they fade. Output decays as the LEDs run hot, and what determines how fast is thermal management. Three details here are genuinely informative.

Open frame versus diffuser

hykolity's fixtures are open frame with no plastic cover, which the listing frames correctly: nothing to block light and nothing to trap heat against the LEDs. A yellowing diffuser over hot LEDs is the classic early-failure pattern.

The trade: dust settles directly on the LEDs, so an occasional blow-out with compressed air keeps the output up.

Housing material

ONLYLUX publishes an aviation-grade aluminum alloy shell with a hollowed body designed for heat dissipation. Aluminum conducts heat away from the LEDs; a plastic housing does not. On a fixture claiming 167 lm/W, thermal management is what makes that sustainable rather than a day-one number.

The LED chips themselves

Skymoatled publishes something nobody else does: it uses 5730 0.5W LEDs rather than the common 2835 0.2W type, and explains why — bigger LEDs running at a lower density produce the same light while running cooler.

That is a real engineering argument, published, and it is the kind of detail that distinguishes a fixture somebody designed from one somebody sourced.

Light spread: the V-shape argument

A flat LED panel throws light straight down, producing a bright stripe under each fixture and darker gaps between them. ELEKICO's V-shape gives 270 degrees of spread, throwing light sideways at the walls as well as down.

In a garage that matters more than it does in a warehouse, because garage walls are covered in the things you are trying to find. Light on the walls is light on your pegboard, your shelving and the labels on your bins.

The practical consequence: a V-shape fixture covers more area usefully, so you can buy fewer of them. ELEKICO also publishes something useful and limiting — not suitable for ceilings 20 ft or higher, which is honest and tells you it is designed for exactly this application.

Certifications, where they are named

Most fixtures here claim ETL certification. Two go further and name the specific standard, which is worth more:

  • Skymoatled — passed the UL153 electrical safety test, named explicitly.
  • hykolity, SHOPLED, ELEKICO — ETL certified.

Naming the standard rather than the certification body is a small signal that somebody in the supply chain read the paperwork. In a product that hangs above your car and runs for thousands of hours, that is worth a little.

The full write-ups

ELEKICO 4 ft V-Shape Shop Light, 7,500 lm, 6-Pack
$69.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 4 ft V-Shape Shop Light, 7,500 lm, 6-Pack

#1Best for spreading light sideways

ELEKICO 4 ft V-Shape Shop Light, 7,500 lm, 6-Pack

8.9/10our score, from published specs

The most efficient and widest-spreading 4 ft light here, in a six-pack. The 3-unit link limit is the only real constraint on a long run.

What the maker publishes

  • 7,500 lm at 50W — 150 lm/W, published
  • 384 LED chips; V-shape giving 270 degrees of light spread
  • 5000K; links up to 3 units
  • Plug-and-play with on/off switch; AC100-277V
  • Maker notes: not suitable for ceilings of 20 ft or higher

How it scores

Brightness
9.5
Efficacy
10.0
Light spread
9.5
Linkability
6.0
Value
9.0

Where it wins

  • 150 lm/W published is the highest efficacy figure in this entire category
  • The V-shape throws light sideways as well as down, which is what you want above a bay rather than a single bench
  • 7,500 lm per fixture means fewer fixtures for the same light level
  • Says plainly it is not for ceilings over 20 ft, instead of overclaiming

Where it doesn’t

  • Links only 3 units against hykolity's 6, so a long garage needs more circuits
  • No CRI published
  • No published fixture weight, which matters for chain-hung installs
hykolity 4 ft Shop Light, 5,500 lm, 3-CCT / 3-Level
$47.49View on Amazon

$49.99 list · 5% off right now

#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 4 ft Shop Light, 5,500 lm, 3-CCT / 3-Level

#2Best for choosing your light color

hykolity 4 ft Shop Light, 5,500 lm, 3-CCT / 3-Level

8.9/10our score, from published specs

The best-specified 4 ft shop light here: 130 lm/W, three color temperatures and three output levels from one fixture. No published CRI, like everything else in the category.

What the maker publishes

  • Up to 5,500 lm at 42W — 130 lm/W efficacy, published
  • Three selectable color temperatures: 4000K, 5000K, 6500K
  • Three selectable wattage levels via a built-in toggle
  • Links up to 6 units in a daisy chain
  • 59 in. cord with a built-in on/off switch

How it scores

Brightness
8.5
Efficacy
10.0
Flexibility
10.0
Spec transparency
8.0
Value
8.5

Where it wins

  • 130 lm/W is the highest published efficacy in this group — that is real money off the electricity bill over a decade
  • Selectable CCT lets you set 4000K over a bench and 5000K over the bay, from one product
  • Three wattage levels means one fixture type works in a tall garage and a low one
  • Switch is on the fixture, so no wall switch to wire

Where it doesn’t

  • No CRI published, so color-critical work (paint matching, detailing) is a judgment call
  • Selectable CCT means a toggle switch someone will knock to the wrong setting
  • Linking six units at 42W is 252W on one plug — fine, but check the cord rating
Barrina T8 8 ft Shop Light, 10,000 lm, 72W, 10-Pack
$189.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to T8 8 ft Shop Light, 10,000 lm, 72W, 10-Pack

#3Best for big garages, fewest fixtures

Barrina T8 8 ft Shop Light, 10,000 lm, 72W, 10-Pack

8.7/10our score, from published specs

The 8 ft pick: a published minimum efficacy of 138 lm/W and half the mounting points of a 4 ft install. Get a second person for the ceiling work.

What the maker publishes

  • 10,000 lm at 72W — minimum 138 lm/W, published
  • 5000K daylight; 8 ft length
  • Links up to 4 fixtures per chain
  • No ballast, no flicker, no mercury
  • 2.2 lb per fixture

How it scores

Brightness
9.5
Efficacy
9.5
Install effort
6.0
Spec transparency
9.0
Value
8.0

Where it wins

  • An 8 ft fixture halves the number of mounting points and cords for the same light — the real argument for 8 ft
  • Publishes a MINIMUM efficacy (138 lm/W), which is a more honest way to state it than a maximum
  • 5000K across the whole run with no color mismatch between fixtures
  • Flicker-free matters if you ever film or photograph work in the garage

Where it doesn’t

  • Eight feet is awkward to carry, awkward to mount alone, and awkward to ship — damage in transit is a real risk
  • A 4-fixture link limit means ten fixtures is three circuits
  • No CRI published
Skymoatled 8 ft Shop Light, 15,500 lm, 100W, 8-Pack
$159.98View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 8 ft Shop Light, 15,500 lm, 100W, 8-Pack

#4Best for a ul-tested 8-pack

Skymoatled 8 ft Shop Light, 15,500 lm, 100W, 8-Pack

8.7/10our score, from published specs

An eight-pack of 15,500 lm fixtures at a usable 5000K, with the actual safety standard named. The missing link limit is the gap.

What the maker publishes

  • 15,500 lm at 100W, 5000K daylight
  • 5730 0.5W LEDs rather than the common 2835 0.2W type
  • Passed UL153 electrical safety testing, stated
  • Double power protection per fixture; surface or hanging mount

How it scores

Brightness
10.0
Efficacy
9.5
Light quality
8.0
Spec transparency
7.5
Value
9.0

Where it wins

  • Names the specific safety standard it passed (UL153) rather than claiming generic certification
  • Larger 5730 LEDs run cooler per lumen than the small 2835 chips most fixtures use, and the listing explains why that matters
  • 5000K rather than 6000K — the better color for a space you work in
  • Eight fixtures covers a 3-car garage completely

Where it doesn’t

  • No stated link limit at all, which with 100W fixtures is the one number you need
  • No published fixture weight
  • Eight 8 ft fixtures is a serious amount of ceiling work
ONLYLUX 4 ft Shop Light, 10,000 lm, 60W, 6-Pack
$139.59View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 4 ft Shop Light, 10,000 lm, 60W, 6-Pack

#5Best for the brightest 4-footer

ONLYLUX 4 ft Shop Light, 10,000 lm, 60W, 6-Pack

8.6/10our score, from published specs

The brightest 4 ft fixture in the group with a proper aluminum housing. The implied efficacy is high enough that it is worth treating as a claim rather than a measurement.

What the maker publishes

  • 10,000 lm at 60W — 167 lm/W by the published figures
  • SMD3030 LED chips; 5000K
  • Aviation-grade aluminum alloy shell with a hollowed body for heat dissipation
  • Plug-in cord and linkable cables; stated 3-minute setup
  • 10.47 lb for six

How it scores

Brightness
10.0
Efficacy
9.0
Build
9.5
Spec transparency
7.0
Value
7.0

Where it wins

  • 10,000 lm from a 4 ft fixture is the brightest here by a clear margin — two of these light a whole bay
  • An aluminum housing with designed heat dissipation is what keeps LED output from decaying early
  • Names the actual LED chip type (SMD3030) rather than 'high-quality chips'
  • The implied 167 lm/W is exceptional if accurate

Where it doesn’t

  • 167 lm/W would be class-leading for any LED fixture; treat the pairing of 10,000 lm and 60W as the maker's claim, not a measured fact
  • The most expensive 4 ft six-pack here
  • No CRI, and no stated link limit
SHOPLED 8 ft Shop Light, 15,000 lm, 100W, 4-Pack
$109.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 8 ft Shop Light, 15,000 lm, 100W, 4-Pack

#6Best for maximum light per fixture

SHOPLED 8 ft Shop Light, 15,000 lm, 100W, 4-Pack

8.6/10our score, from published specs

The most light per fixture available, with a published 50,000-hour life. Note the maker's own 3-fixture chain limit on a 4-pack.

What the maker publishes

  • 15,000 lm at 100W — 150 lm/W, 6000K
  • Stated 50,000-hour lifespan, flicker-free
  • ETL certified
  • Links, but the maker says no more than 3 at one time
  • Clips and screws included

How it scores

Brightness
10.0
Efficacy
10.0
Install effort
6.0
Light quality
6.5
Value
9.0

Where it wins

  • 15,000 lm per fixture is the most light from any single fixture here
  • Publishes a lifespan figure (50,000 hours), which most of this category does not
  • 150 lm/W at that output is genuinely efficient
  • Four fixtures is enough for a large garage or a 3-car bay

Where it doesn’t

  • The maker explicitly caps the chain at 3 fixtures, which for a 4-pack means a second circuit by design
  • 6000K is cold
  • 100W per fixture: four is 400W, so check the circuit before linking
BBOUNDER 4 ft Shop Light, 4,400 lm, 6500K, 10-Pack
$79.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 4 ft Shop Light, 4,400 lm, 6500K, 10-Pack

#7Best for lighting a whole garage at once

BBOUNDER 4 ft Shop Light, 4,400 lm, 6500K, 10-Pack

8.3/10our score, from published specs

Ten fixtures, one box, whole garage done. The 6500K color is the thing to decide on before you buy — it is cooler than most people expect.

What the maker publishes

  • 4,400 lm at 40W — 110 lm/W, 6500K cool daylight
  • "D"-shaped tube design
  • Links up to 4 units; 56 in. cord with plug
  • Ceiling-mount or suspended; hardware included
  • 9.02 lb for ten

How it scores

Brightness
7.5
Efficacy
8.0
Coverage per dollar
10.0
Light quality
6.0
Value
9.5

Where it wins

  • Ten fixtures in one box is the cheapest way to light an entire 2-car garage in one afternoon
  • The D-shaped tube is a real design choice aimed at light distribution, not just a shape
  • Mounting hardware for both flush and suspended installs
  • 40W each means ten of them is 400W total — manageable on two circuits

Where it doesn’t

  • 6500K is noticeably blue; many people find it clinical in a space they spend hours in
  • Only 4 units link per chain, so ten fixtures means at least three separate plugs
  • No CRI published
Sunco Lighting 4 ft Shop Light, 4,500 lm, 5000K, 6-Pack
$59.99View on Amazon

$65.95 list · 9% off right now

#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 4 ft Shop Light, 4,500 lm, 5000K, 6-Pack

#8Best for no wall switch needed

Sunco Lighting 4 ft Shop Light, 4,500 lm, 5000K, 6-Pack

8.2/10our score, from published specs

The fixture to buy when there is no light switch: a pull chain on each unit and a sensible 5000K color.

What the maker publishes

  • 4,500 lm at 40W, 5000K daylight
  • Pull chain built into the fixture
  • Links up to 4 units per chain
  • White endcaps; chain and hook mounting included
  • 1.28 lb each

How it scores

Brightness
7.5
Efficacy
8.0
Convenience
9.5
Light quality
8.0
Value
8.5

Where it wins

  • A pull chain on the fixture means no wall switch to wire — the right answer in a rented or unfinished garage
  • 5000K rather than 6500K: bright and clean without the blue cast
  • White endcaps disappear against a white ceiling instead of drawing the eye
  • Sunco publishes full certification details across its range

Where it doesn’t

  • A pull chain is one more mechanical part, and it is the part that breaks
  • 4-unit link limit
  • Middling 112 lm/W by the published figures
hykolity 4 ft Linkable Shop Light, 4,400 lm, 5000K
$26.59View on Amazon

$29.99 list · 11% off right now

#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 4 ft Linkable Shop Light, 4,400 lm, 5000K

#9Best for cheapest per fixture

hykolity 4 ft Linkable Shop Light, 4,400 lm, 5000K

8.0/10our score, from published specs

Buy it to add one more light over the bench. The 3-CCT version is only slightly dearer and 25% more efficient, so for a full install start there.

What the maker publishes

  • 4,400 lm at 42W — 105 lm/W, published
  • 5000K daylight; ETL certified
  • Open-frame design: no plastic cover to block light or trap heat
  • Links up to 6 units; 59 in. cord with switch
  • 1.04 lb

How it scores

Brightness
7.5
Efficacy
7.5
Flexibility
6.0
Spec transparency
8.0
Value
10.0

Where it wins

  • The cheapest single 4 ft fixture here, so you can light a bay in stages
  • Open frame means no yellowing diffuser and no heat trapped against the LEDs — the most common cause of early failure
  • ETL certified rather than uncertified
  • One pound: it hangs on two chains and never sags

Where it doesn’t

  • 105 lm/W where the 3-CCT model manages 130 lm/W for a few dollars more
  • Fixed 5000K: no option for a warmer bench light
  • Open frame collects dust directly on the LEDs, which needs an occasional blow-out

Before you buy the pack size

Work out the fixture count from your floor area first — 50-75 lumens per square foot — then buy the pack that matches. A ten-pack of 4,400 lm fixtures is excellent value and is also 44,000 lumens, which is more than a two-car garage needs and three separate circuits.

The layout math is on the garage lighting layout guide, the 4 ft versus 8 ft decision on 4 ft vs 8 ft shop lights, and if you are replacing fluorescent tubes, LED vs fluorescent shop lights covers whether to retrofit or replace.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best LED shop light for a garage?

ELEKICO's 4 ft V-shape for pure performance — 7,500 lumens at 50W (150 lm/W) with a 270-degree spread that throws light sideways as well as down. hykolity's 3-CCT if you want selectable color temperature. Barrina's 8 ft T8 if you want to halve your mounting points.

How many shop lights do I need?

Target 50-75 lumens per square foot. A 450 sq ft two-car garage wants 22,500-34,000 lumens, which is four 4 ft fixtures at 5,500-7,500 lm, or two 8 ft fixtures at 15,000 lm. Work backwards from your own floor area.

Do LED shop lights need an electrician?

No. Every fixture here is plug-in with a cord and an on/off switch, hangs on chains or mounts flush, and links to its neighbors. That is the main practical advantage over hardwired fixtures — the whole install is an afternoon with a drill.

What does the V-shape do?

ELEKICO's V-shape gives 270 degrees of light spread rather than throwing it all straight down. In a garage that means light reaching the walls and the corners rather than a bright stripe under each fixture — which is why fewer fixtures can cover the same bay.

Open frame or covered?

Open frame (hykolity) means no plastic diffuser to yellow and no heat trapped against the LEDs, which is the most common cause of early failure. The trade is that dust settles directly on the LEDs and wants an occasional blow-out. Covered fixtures look tidier and run hotter.

Sources

  • ELEKICO 4 ft V-shape listing — Published 7,500 lm at 50W (150 lm/W), 384 LED chips, 270-degree V-shape spread, links up to 3, AC100-277V, not for ceilings over 20 ft.
  • Barrina 8 ft T8 listing — Published minimum 138 lm/W, 10,000 lm at 72W, no ballast, no flicker, links up to 4.
  • Skymoatled 8 ft listing — Published 15,500 lm at 100W, 5730 0.5W LEDs rather than 2835 0.2W, UL153 electrical safety test passed.