Heads up: buy through a link here and we earn a commission from Amazon, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — how that works.
The short answer
For drawers on a bench, the HAK 48-inch is the pick: a pry-resistant cabinet lock, two drawers, three sides of pegboard and a published 1.2 mm frame thickness, which almost nothing at this price states. Be aware that no bench in this category publishes a drawer-slide rating — if you need heavily loaded drawers you can trust, pair a cheaper bench with a tool chest instead.
Buy this one for the lock. A pry-resistant cabinet plus a published 1.2 mm frame thickness is a more useful pair of facts than another four-figure capacity claim.
The rolling bench that actually stores things: six drawers, a keyed cabinet and a 37.5 in. height that parks under shelving, at the cost of half the static rating.
#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked October 5, 2026, and vanish from this page rather than go stale. Scores are ours, compiled from published specs and warranty terms — not from testing we did not do. Tap a row for the full write-up.
The rating that is missing, and what to do about it
Start with the honest problem. Not one bench in this category publishes a drawer-slide weight rating. They all say the drawers are on slides. None says what the slides take.
That matters because it is exactly the figure the tool-storage category DOES publish. CRAFTSMAN's S2000 line states 100 lb per drawer on full-extension soft-close slides. WEN states 100 lb. Husky states 100 lb with double slides on the heaviest drawers. In tool storage that number is table stakes; on workbenches it does not exist.
The practical consequence: put the light, frequently used things in bench drawers — hand tools, fasteners, tape, markers — and put the socket sets and the heavy stuff in a tool chest with a published rating. A cheaper bench plus a documented chest is both more capacity and more confidence than one bench trying to do everything.
Who publishes what
Bench
Frame gauge
Storage
Lock
HAK 48 in.
1.2 mm, published, triangular bracing
2 drawers, 3-sided pegboard, 6 in. top shelf
Pry-resistant
MUWOOD WB0006
1.3 mm, published, plus a 1.2 in. top
Drawers (count not stated), large bin-ready pegboard
Not stated
Eltean 48 in.
Not published
2 drawers, no-drill pegboard, top tray
Keyed cabinet
Rumetol 48 in.
Not published
2 deep drawers, 3-sided pegboard, extension shelf
Magnetic cabinets with lock
Eltean 55 in. rolling
Not published
6 drawers (4 narrow, 2 wide), cabinet
Magnetic door with key
Rumetol 55 in. rolling
Not published
6 drawers (2 tall, 4 short), cabinet
Magnetic door with key
Scroll the table sideways on a narrow screen.
HAK and MUWOOD are the only two benches on the entire site that publish a frame thickness. That is not a coincidence with them being good benches — a maker that measures its steel tends to have measured other things too.
Two drawers or six?
This is really a choice between two different products, and the capacity table makes it obvious.
The two-drawer benches — HAK, Eltean 48, Rumetol 48 — are fixed, 65 inches tall, publish 2,000-2,500 lb, and give you a locking cabinet plus three sides of pegboard. The drawers hold the small constant stuff; the cabinet holds the power tools.
The six-drawer benches — Eltean 55, Rumetol 55 — are rolling, 37.5 inches tall, publish 1,000 lb, and are genuinely a bench-and-chest hybrid. You get the drawer count at the cost of half the rated capacity and the pegboard-back wall storage.
If the bench is going against a wall permanently and you already own or plan to own a tool chest, buy a two-drawer fixed bench. If the bench IS your tool storage, buy a six-drawer rolling one and read the best rolling workbenches too.
The pegboard is the real storage
Drawers get the attention; the pegboard does the work. HAK and Rumetol both wrap pegboard around three sides of the bench, which turns the bench itself into wall storage — and because it is bolted to the bench rather than your wall, it works on block walls, in rentals, and anywhere you might rearrange.
MUWOOD takes a different and arguably smarter approach: part of its pegboard is laid out specifically for hanging parts bins rather than hooks. Loose small hardware is the actual chaos in most garages, and bins solve it where hooks do not. If you want to extend that idea, see pegboard hooks and accessories for the kits with bins included.
#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 48" Workbench with Lockable Cabinet
#1Best for locking tool storage
HAK 48" Workbench with Lockable Cabinet
8.3/10our score, from published specs
Buy this one for the lock. A pry-resistant cabinet plus a published 1.2 mm frame thickness is a more useful pair of facts than another four-figure capacity claim.
What the maker publishes
65 in. H x 47 in. W x 23.6 in. D (maker's figures)
2,500 lb static load test claimed; 1.2 mm steel frame with triangular bracing
Pry-resistant lock on the main cabinet
Three-sided pegboard, 6 in. top extension shelf
Magnetic LED strip, 3000K-6000K, dimmable
100 lb shipping weight
How it scores
Rated capacity
9.0
Top material
7.0
Storage
9.5
Spec transparency
7.5
Value
8.5
Where it wins
+Publishes an actual frame thickness (1.2 mm) and a bracing description, which almost nothing at this price does
+Pry-resistant cabinet lock, not just a keyed latch
+Three-sided pegboard turns the bench itself into the wall storage
+The 6 in. top shelf is where the lubricants and the tape measure live instead of under your work
Where it doesn’t
−All-steel top rings and dents; it is not the surface for finish woodwork
−65 in. tall with the pegboard, so it needs clear wall above the bench
−Sold under a brand with no published warranty terms we could find
#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to YDGZT-01 55" Rolling Workbench
#3Best for rolling bench with drawers
Eltean YDGZT-01 55" Rolling Workbench
8.1/10our score, from published specs
The rolling bench that actually stores things: six drawers, a keyed cabinet and a 37.5 in. height that parks under shelving, at the cost of half the static rating.
What the maker publishes
37.5 in. H x 55 in. W x 19.7 in. D (58.3 in. wide with handles)
1,000 lb claimed maximum capacity, sheet-steel construction
6 drawers on slides (4 narrow, 2 wide) plus 2 cabinet doors
Adjustable interior shelf; magnetic door locks with key
4 heavy-duty rubber wheels, 2 locking swivels; metal side handle
Screwdriver holes in the handles (13 positions); 108 lb
How it scores
Rated capacity
6.5
Top material
7.0
Storage
9.5
Mobility
9.0
Value
8.0
Where it wins
+Six drawers and a lockable cabinet on a bench you can roll out to the car and back
+37.5 in. height clears most wall shelving, so it parks where a 65 in. bench cannot
+The handle doubles as a 13-slot screwdriver rack, which is the kind of detail that earns its keep
+Side pegboards ventilate the cabinet, which genuinely matters if you store solvents
Where it doesn’t
−1,000 lb is less than half the static rating of the fixed steel benches
−19.7 in. deep: narrow, and the drawers eat into usable knee space
−Drawer slides are described but never rated, so per-drawer load is unknown
#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to WB0006 60" Workbench with Drawers
#5Best for wood top plus drawers
MUWOOD WB0006 60" Workbench with Drawers
8.0/10our score, from published specs
A 60-inch solid rubberwood top with a published thickness and frame gauge, let down by a listing that cannot keep its own numbers straight.
What the maker publishes
60 in. x 22 in. x 1.2 in. solid rubberwood top
1.3 mm steel frame; over 2,000 lb claimed capacity
6-level height adjustment, 28 in. to 40 in., no tools
Large pegboard with a section sized for hanging parts bins
ETL outlets: 4 AC, 2 USB; strip light included
105.1 lb shipping weight
How it scores
Rated capacity
8.5
Top material
9.5
Storage
7.0
Spec transparency
6.5
Value
7.5
Where it wins
+Publishes the top thickness (1.2 in.) and the frame gauge (1.3 mm) — both, which is unusual
+The pegboard is laid out for parts bins, not just hooks, which is what small-hardware chaos actually needs
+60 in. of solid rubberwood at a mid-range price
+Height range reaches 40 in., tall enough for comfortable standing work if you are over six foot
Where it doesn’t
−The listing states a 6.6-inch cord length, which is plainly a typo for 6.6 feet — a spec-sheet error, not a product fault, but it is the sheet you are buying from
−Drawers are mentioned in the title but neither counted nor rated in the bullets
#ad · Price as of October 5, 2026 · Affiliate disclosure for the link to YDGZT-R 55" Rolling Workbench
#6Best for six drawers, locked
Rumetol YDGZT-R 55" Rolling Workbench
7.8/10our score, from published specs
Functionally the same rolling cabinet-bench as the Eltean, with a better drawer mix and a higher price. Buy whichever is cheaper on the day.
What the maker publishes
37.5 in. H x 55 in. W x 19.7 in. D; high-strength steel
1,000 lb claimed total load capacity
6 drawers (2 tall, 4 short) plus lockable magnetic-door cabinet
Adjustable interior shelf; dedicated screwdriver slot in the handle
4 rubber wheels, 2 lockable swivels
109 lb shipping weight
How it scores
Rated capacity
6.5
Top material
6.5
Storage
9.5
Mobility
9.0
Value
7.0
Where it wins
+Two tall drawers as well as four short ones, so bulky hand tools get a home
+Lockable magnetic cabinet door with an adjustable shelf inside
+Built-in drawer handles let you stand right against the bench without a handle in your hip
+Pegboard sides vent the cabinet — relevant for glue and paint storage
Where it doesn’t
−Priced above the near-identical Eltean while offering the same 1,000 lb rating
−Rubber-mat top rather than wood or enamelled steel: it will not take a clamp face
−Assembly is explicitly a two-person job per the maker
Where the heavy stuff should go instead
Because no bench here rates its slides, the sensible plan is to split storage by weight. Bench drawers take the light and constant; a tool chest takes the heavy and organized; a cabinet or shelving takes the bulky.
What are the drawer slides on these benches rated for?+
Nothing is published. Every bench here describes its drawers as being 'on slides' and none states a weight. That is a real gap — compare it to tool chests, where CRAFTSMAN, WEN and Husky all publish 100 lb per drawer. If you need drawers you can load heavily and trust, a tool chest beside a cheaper bench is the better buy.
How many drawers does a bench actually need?+
Two is enough if the bench's job is the tools you use hourly — screwdrivers, tape, pliers, pencils — and a tool chest holds the rest. Six drawers on a bench (the rolling models) is really a bench-and-chest combination, and it trades away half the static capacity to get there.
Is a locking cabinet worth paying for?+
If anyone else uses the garage, yes — and it is the only reason to buy a cabinet rather than open shelving. HAK's pry-resistant lock is a step above the keyed cam locks on the others, and all of them beat a magnetic catch.
Why do the steel benches all come with a rubber mat?+
Because a bare steel top rings, dents soft metals and lets tools slide. Eltean, Rumetol and HAK all ship a mat, which is the makers acknowledging the limitation of their own surface. It is a genuinely good inclusion, not a gimmick.
Sources
HAK 48 in. workbench listing — Published 1.2 mm steel frame with triangular bracing, 2,500 lb static load test, pry-resistant cabinet lock.
MUWOOD WB0006 listing — Published 1.2 in. solid rubberwood top thickness and 1.3 mm metal frame.